Sewing room tour

16 Jun

First off this is a test to see how bad the formatting is when I use the mobile app. Bear with me.

I LOVE  seeing pictures of people’s studios. It has always fascinated me how people work and the materials they use. All the trinkets, supplies, inspiration images and yes mess. So many artist I speak to are embarrassed by their messy studios but really those are the best ones.

On the flip side I am also a surprisingly organized person. I like to call my style organized chaos. Everything has a place but it’s not always in its place. I am always looking for creative organization ideas and how to cram as much stuff as possible into a small space.

Givin that I love to peek at other people’s studios I thought it only fair I share mine. Let the photo tour begin!

image

This is the print that greets you as you walk in. I got it a couple years ago at SEAF. I couldn’t pass it up!

image
Next we have my pattern storage. Up top are hand drafted or highly altered patterns. Below we have commercial patterns. There are vintage ones mixed in. Some day (after CoCo) I will organize these a little better.

image

Next up we have the ironing area. For Christmas I got a gravity feed semi – industrial iron. Behind the iron is the costume closet. Its full and messy and thus not part of the tour.

image

To the left of the iron is the ironing acessories. Not very exciting. Above that however is a nice fashion plate I picked up a few months ago.

image

This is my sewing table. Organized chaos. It is surprisingly functional and big.

image

This is my primary machine, Mary Ann. I name my machines after their previous owners. I absolutely LOVE my machine! It’s consistant, heavy and easy to use. Some day I will cut the table so the machine sits flush. Right now that is my only complaint – it’s too high.

image

This is the over flow messy corner. It’s a pile of fabric to sort, papers to sort and the only place my grand bustle can live when I need it handy but not on my dress form. So there is a bit of necessary chaos.

image

No sewing room is complete without a media center of sorts. I watch a lot of Star Trek and Harry Potter here. Under the computer is a treedle machine. I have yet to use it due to a broken belt but I am sure I will need to in the next year. You also can see my project boards. I just got them so they are under used at the moment. The idea is to have my sketches, research and to do lists easily visable.

image

image

Next we have my main work space – the cutting table. This corner is where I sit to draw, draft, cut and do some hand sewing. This area also houses a lot of trim, notions and tools.

image

I love my little wooden drawers! Here you can see my rulers, manuals and empty pattern envelopes next the main tool drawer.

image

Big cutting table!

image

An interesting completely useless piece – a silver bowl given to my great aunt from her local Gilbert and Sullivan Society. She was their costumer for many years.

image

My favorite part of the sewing room – half decoration, half storage. Sometimes i just stand in front of it staring.

image

image

image

image

It’s amazing how much stuff I’ve crammed on here.

image

Lastly behind the door is a little hanging storage for projects in process or mending.

So that’s it. It’s a good sized room but of course like most sewing rooms completely over flowing.

Leave a Reply

